Book Review, Books and Reading, My Life

Top Favorite Books of 2017

Good afternoon, friends!

I hope this day is going well for you and wherever you are it is warm. Last week in my area we had below zero temperatures and wind chills made it around -25/-30 degrees! Yes, I hibernated as much as possible, lol. Today it is still cold out but compared to what we have had it is pretty nice. And the sun is shining.

I have taken the last couple of weeks to look back on the books I read last year and have my list of favorites ready. the stories took me on so many different paths. I walked through family secrets, fantasy worlds, countries, centuries of adventures. But out of all of them, there were four that really left their print on me. In no particular order….

 

A Moonbow Night by Laura Frantz

Laura Frantz swept me away to the wild land of Kentucke. A place filled with surveyors and pioneers determined to colonize the area even amidst dangers all around. Tempe Tucker, the innkeeper’s daughter, guides the new surveying party through the land. 1777 Kentucke wilderness, an adventurous heroine, secrets. This story had so much. I felt as if I was part of the surveying party. The details brought everything to life. It is a story richly filled with history, mystery, adventure, and love. For a deeper look into my review of this story the link to the original review is here:

https://kymberlibriggs.wordpress.com/2017/01/23/a-moonbow-night/

 

Child of the River by Irma Joubert

Everything about this story did it for me. The cover image, the heroine, the other characters, the way Ms. Joubert wrote the story, the setting, everything Persomi had to face. This was my first story set in South Africa, add in that it was set in the 1940’s and 1950’s and I was transported there instantly. I could not put this book down, I stayed up late to read it. This is a book I highly recommend.

https://kymberlibriggs.wordpress.com/2017/03/11/child-of-the-river-book-review/

 

The Mark of the King by Jocelyn Green

Julianne Chevalier has been branded a criminal in France and sentenced to the New World in exile. She is shipped to Loisiana and quickly discovers she needs more strength than she ever imagined. Again, I was swept away to different worlds. 1700’s France into Louisiana. There were trials and dangers around every corner and Julianne quickly had to learn who she needed to be if she ever thought of staying alive.

https://kymberlibriggs.wordpress.com/2017/04/07/the-mark-of-the-king/

 

True to You by Becky Wade

I was introduced to my fictional twin when I read this story. Nora’s love of books, vintage styles, genealogy, BBC and PBS. Her house is filled with books. Nora is asked to help a former Navy SEAL find his birth parents and it takes each of them on a journey neither planned for. Family secrets, second chances. This story is my favorite Becky Wade book to date.

https://kymberlibriggs.wordpress.com/2018/01/13/true-to-you/

 

There you go. I hope I may have helped you find some good reads for this coming year. What books did you read last year that left their mark on you? I would love to hear about them. I can never have too many books!

Leave a comment