A Miniature Treasure Hunt

Good Evening, Friends,

 

I hope your day has gone well. It is nighttime here at my house and as the critters sleep and the stars twinkle I am thinking about my day. Every day is creative for me. Why, you may ask? Well, I love creativity. I think life would be boring without it. For as long as I can remember I have had a very vivid creativity. Whether it was playing dress up as Scarlett O’Hara or Laura Ingalls Wilder, if I was a waitress or a bank teller, if I was a teacher or a rescue 911 telephone operator, I was playing in some world. Paper dolls, barbies and my dollhouse. Designing and making jewelry. Finger paintings, notecards, painted wooden signs. I like to try all sorts of things. It helps keep things fresh, right? So, how does imagination play into m day to day life now?

I babysit. Lol, that should explain it. You need a pretty good imagination when babysitting. And today was no exception. I still have my Playskool Dollhouse from the early 1990’s and the kids I babysit like to play with it. The only downside right now is that I still have not found the furniture or people that go with the dollhouse. The upside? You learn to get creative. If you are in the same or similar situation I found myself in here are some ideas….

 

*Do you have Legos? Awesome! How about Lego furniture? There is a Lego couch in the dollhouse living room now.

*Doilies make great rugs, tablecloths, curtains, and blankets. Which brings me to….

*Need a bed? How about using Legos for those as well, or, like we did today, use cardboard jewelry boxes. The soft insert makes a great mattress too!

*How about a bookcase? You can use a cardboard jewelry box for that too. Use the bottom part for the bookcase itself, for the shelves use the top part of the box, cutting strips of it to fit the width and length of the bottom part. You can add a dab of glue for support. Obviously, it cannot hold very heavy items but it still works well for small, light items.

 

These are just a few ideas I have come up with helping the kids decorate the dollhouse. I hope they spark some ideas for you next time you are hanging out with kids, or have a dollhouse of your own. If you have any ideas to share for decorating a dollhouse using household items, I would love to hear about them. Please feel free to post a comment 🙂

 

Peace,

Kymberli

2 thoughts on “A Miniature Treasure Hunt

  1. cutting out small pictures to hang up on the walls of the dollhouse. Much cheaper then buying pictures at the stores.
    And my daughter told me about cotton being good for snow. just pull it apart and put on the roof, etc…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

