Double Cross book review

4a45e830f76d8d043af1d4896c66c24eFive years ago FBI Laurel Evertson went under cover to catch Morton Wilmington, a felon pulling the Robin Hood card. The case has haunted Laurel ever since and she has vowed to forget Morton and what she has had to sacrifice to get him behind bars. Only now he is her best lead in a new case.

Police officer Daniel Hilton fears his grandparents may be the next targets in an elderly scam and he will do anything to protect them. He joins Laurel’s investigation and is quickly drawn to her zeal. He is not, however, thrilled to be working with an ex-con.

As the unlikely trio uncover disturbing evidence suggesting the scam is deadlier than they imagined, they find themselves in the crosshairs of a killer. Can Daniel and Laurel trust Morton’s claim of redemption or is he leading them into a trap?

I enjoyed reading this from the POVs of all three involved, with the occasional “guest”. It kept me aware of where everyone was (or so I thought). Diann Mills had a way of making me think I had it figured out. I was so sure I knew who was behind it all. Ms. Mills crafted the story very well. The book is a keeper for sure, one I will be passing on to my mom (I guess you can say we have a mini bookclub). The only little thing that irritated me is Daniel has chocolate brown eyes and the cover model does not have brown eyes (these are things I pick up on).

 

*I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. The thoughts I have expressed are entirely my own.*

Leave a Reply

