Dauntless book review

1e82a7d6038e96edc849fea817a1c4c1Lady Merry Ellison was born a Baron’s daughter. Now, however, she is an enemy of the throne after her father’s failed attempt to assassinate the king. She lives in the forest with orphans, caring for their needs and becoming known as “The Ghosts of Farthering Forest”. With this name comes trouble. Particularly that for Merry.

I was intrigued with this story. It reminded me of a mix of Peter Pan and Robin Hood. I was looking forward to reading it. Unfortunately, it has fallen into the category of books that could not hold my attention. Mainly the big problem being- not being able to connect with the characters. Connecting with the characters is very important to me, as I have mentioned before. I have to understand their motives, sympathize with them, laugh when they laugh, cry when they cry, and so on. I had a really hard time connecting with any of the characters in this story, I could not follow their motives, sadly, and stopped reading after five chapters.

 

*I received this book free from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. What I have expressed is entirely my own thoughts.*

Leave a Reply

