Sabotaged book review

5dbed11c9aa4307ac027737aa0457342Kirra Jacobs and Reef McKenna have known each other since they were kids and they have always been at odds. Now, years later, they need to put aside their differences as they work search and rescue together for Alaska’s Iditarod race. One night Reef catches Kirra sneaking from camp and goes to investigate. Doing so changes his life forever.

Kirra’s uncle, a musher in the race, has disappeared. When Kirra and Reef find him they discover that his daughter has been kidnapped. Now there is more than one race on Alaska’s frozen ground. This other one, however, is a race for life. Not only is Kirra’s cousin’s life in danger but so are the lives of many other people in the state. Kirra, Reef, and Reef’s family must stop the villain before it is too late.

This is a fast-paced action story that I loved. The interaction between Kirra and Reef is fun to read, “watching” their relationship grow, learning each other’s secrets, seeing their determination to save Korea’s family, and working through past pains. I read this series out of order (I read book four- Silenced– first and then this one) but that has not ruined my enjoyment of the storylines. Now I just have to rewind and read books 1-3 🙂 I am looking forward to seeing what Dani Pettrey has in store next. I like her style of writing and how she tells her stories. They are so easy to become immersed in. I hope she will have more to share.

*I received this book free from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. The thoughts I expressed are entirely my own.*

2 thoughts on “Sabotaged book review

    • Thank you so much. It was definitely a fun read. I also found it a fun coincidence that I was reading it during the actual race going on in Alaska. Great timing, I think! I will be sure to check out your book.
      Kymberli Briggs

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

