October Baby book review

a0b91b22c379b34b5f41e6569f0cba92What do you do when you learn that your life is a lie?

Nineteen year old Hannah has lived with medical difficulties for as long as she can remember but she never let’s them stop her. She wants to experience college and her biggest dream- acting. The opening night of a new show should be filled with happy memories, not filled with an ambulance ride and a hospital visit. And that is when the truth comes out. Hannah was adopted. Not just that- Hannah was adopted after a failed abortion attempt. Determined to find answers she heads off on a road trip with her best friend, Jason, and a group of his friends hoping to find her birth mother and learn why she was not wanted.

This story is filled with characters from different age groups, work groups, personalities, etc…. Sometimes it is hard for authors to capture the true feel of a young child, a teenager, a parent, an older person, a teacher, a doctor,  police officer. Each of these would have different ways of thinking and handling situations. When I read October Baby I felt that the authors, Eric Wilson and Theresa Preston, captured every characters personality flawlessly. While reading the book I grinned at some of the happenings on the road trip, things I definitely pictured happening in real life. I laughed out loud, I cried, I felt for these characters. Very rarely does a story capture my emotions the way this book has. It is one that will stay with me for a long time. I finished it last night and tonight I watched the movie. A word of advice- If you read and/or watch the movie (which I recommend) do so with tissues on hand. If you are like me, you will need them. And don’t let the thought of possibly crying stop you from reading this story. It is well worth it in my opinion.

*I received this book free from B&H Publishing in exchange for my honest review. The thoughts I have expressed are entirely my own.*

Leave a Reply

