Top Ten Favorite Books of 2014

(This is round two for this post. My other one disappeared when my tablet shut down. Maybe next time I will remember to keep an eye on the battery life!)

Since 2011 I have been keeping track of the books I read. I have a notebook just for these lists. I thought I would share with you my favorite books from last year and why I liked them. In no particular order….

1- Wildwood Creek by Lisa Wingate. The setting is Moses Creek, Texas. Allie Kirkland is offered a job working on a docudrama where the cast is bringing 1860’s Wildwood to life. Allie soon discovers the history of Wildwood and realizes that the dangers the residents of 1860’s Wildwood experienced have not stayed in the past. I loved the way each story, Allie’s modern-day story and Bonnie Rose’s story of 1861 weaved together. There was mystery, action, and suspense that kept me up at night reading, wanting to know what would happen.

2- A Beauty So Rare by Tamera Alexander. Eleanor Braddock served as a nurse during the Civil War. Now that the war is over Eleanor wishes to continue to help people, particularly the widows and orphans of the war. Marcus Gottfried, a man from Austria, is searching for a life he can determine for himself. He and Eleanor meet and a friendship blossoms. However, both are hiding secrets. When they are uncovered, can Eleanor and Marcus learn to trust, perhaps even to love, one another? I enjoyed the blend of historical events with the fictional characters. Ms. Alexander has a way of writing that sucks me right in. This was a great addition to her “Belmont Mansion” series.

3, 4, 5- Divergent, Insurgent, Allegiant by Veronica Roth. It was my first time reading a futuristic story. I read all three books in 13 days, the last one I read in less than 24 hours. I was visiting friends and had just finished Insurgent a few days into the visit. I did not have Allegiant. My friend was sweet to lend me her Kindle so I could read the last book (thanks again for that!). It is a series that I love and I hate. I understand why certain things happened the way they did but it doesn’t mean I liked everything that happened. It is one of those love/hate relationships. Some day I will read them again but right now I am still recovering.

6- Silenced by Dani Pettrey. Kayden McKenna is an experienced rock climber in Alaska. Her day starts out as any other day, until she finds a dead climber. When it is discovered that this was no accident she has to work with Jake Westin, a man who Kayden is already having feelings for. A man with secrets. Now the killer is onto them and dangers lurk around every corner. This is book four of the Alaskan Courage series, and although I have not read the other three yet (book one is now on my To-Be Read pile) it did not ruin the other books for me.

7- Full Steam Ahead by Karen Witemeyer. Take one reclusive, and somewhat obsessive, scientist and mix in a headstrong, determined woman and watch things combust! Darius Thornton, a survivor of a steamboat explosion, is on the path to find a safer way for these steamboats. He hires Nicole (not that he is happy about hiring a woman as his assistant) and soon learns she is hiding something. I liked the blend of history, action, and humor. Ms. Witemeyer’s stories are always entertaining for me. I read the last 12 chapters in one sitting!

8- Thunder by Bonnie S. Calhoun. The story is set 150 years after a nuclear attack that destroys much of the United States.  Everyone is trying to blend the old ways with the new. Selah has just turned 18 and with that she discovers she is not who she thought she was. She has become the hunted and must go on the run. This book had me hooked from the beginning. It was filled with action, mystery and great details of a future life. I am looking forward to reading the sequel coming out this year.

9- Surprised by Love by Julie Lessman. Megan McClure has always been a quiet, shy girl. When she returns from studying in Paris her best friend, Bram Hughes, expects to be reunited with the same girl he had said goodbye to. He soon finds out that Megan is not the same girl he grew up with. Add in Devin Caldwell, a man from Megan’s school years who used to mock her relentlessly and now wishes to be friends, perhaps even more. Who will win Meg’s love? I loved, loved, loved the relationship between Meg and Bram. This story was filled with a sweet friendship, second chances and a happy ending.

10- The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klansman. Abigail Foster and her family move into Pembrooke Park after facing financial ruin. Pembrooke Park has not been used in  18 years and everything was left when the previous owners disappeared. I was immediately swept up in this story. The mystery, the twists and turns…. I read the last 221 pages in one day. I was glued to the story, wanting to know what happened.

 

I am looking forward to finding out what my top books of 2015 will be.

Leave a Reply

