The Secret of Pembrooke Park book review

207d38e3fa4dfb98341f612338afbfdbPembrooke Park- A place of refuge. A place of nightmares.

Abigail Foster and her family move into Pembrooke Park after facing financial ruin. When Abigail arrives at her new home, one given to them by an anonymous person, she finds it has been left just as it had been eighteen years ago, when it was last occupied. Tea cups are set out with tea encrusted in the china, moth-eaten clothes are hanging in wardrobes, furniture is covered in years worth of dust. Abigail immediately wonders (as did I as I read the story)- What happened? And then she meets her neighbors. Kind though they are, she knows they are hiding something. When she asks about the manor her questions are always turned away. This, of course, makes her more eager to learn what is going on. Are the rumors about a treasure hidden within Pembrooke Park’s walls true? What happened to the family that lived there? Why does everyone seem so on edge about the manor being opened again? Who is sending Abigail unsigned letters and why? As the days go on she discovers that although it has been nearly two decades the dangers lurking around Pembrooke Park are still very real and very close. Will she uncover the truth or will searching for the answers bring her devastating, perhaps even deadly, results?

I loved this story. I thought I had it figured out fairly early on and about halfway through I was thrown for a loop. When one door to the mystery began to open another appeared. It was like being on a reading roller coaster, one that was in the dark and you never knew what was going to happen next. The book is 456 pages long and I read the last 221 pages in one day. I couldn’t walk away from it. Julie Klassen is easily becoming one of my favorite authors. I love how she describes the English countryside in a way that I see it clearly in my mind. I love the mystery part of her stories (a favorite genre of mine) and the bit of suspense, enough to make me gasp and hold my breath on occasion.

Thank you, Bethany House, for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Thank you, Ms. Klassen, for writing such a wonderful story and sharing it.

Leave a Reply

