National Novel Writing Month

This year makes year 4 of my participation in National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo. Every year in the month of November thousands of people around the world agree to take up the challenge to write a novel of 50,000 words in 30 days. That is an estimated 1,667 words a day. The first year I tried it I came nowhere near to writing 50,000 words (but I had a blast anyway). Years two and three I won the challenge. Those manuscripts are safely tucked away. They ended up not working out in themselves but I have pulled some things from them (names mainly) to use in this year’s story. I am currently still ahead of schedule in my word count by about three days. I have, so far, 34,903 words. I may reach the 50,000 words early this year! If everything stays on track, that is. I have learned not to count on things staying on track. This is real life, and as we all know, real life is never predictable….

Leave a Reply

